Learning the Art of Writing

My sacred space


Is in the mental realms, and is my space I go into and shut out all interference from the nay sayers. I have always enjoyed story’s about the Witch’s and when I knew they were connected to a way of being I wanted to know more.

“This Witch is that part of ourselves that yearns for the return of night (the unconscious hours),who leads us to seek out the uncivilised parts of our nature so that we may cultivate and extend her powers. This Witch isunrestrained by social mores, a true heretic of society and makes us connect with our real self when we feel that we dont fit in.”

The Whites Workshop

This is a perfect description of my feeling about my life in general,  I am Psychic Healer and work professionally has a Tarot Card Reader. I have never really described myself has a witch, but as life has progressed  I respect the term and I am completely open to new ways of being even if it is outside  what other people see for me or believe in themselves.

I could  no longer relate to the mainly male  religions and therefore did not fit in to the normal idea of how a spiritual person was perceived. So I began looking towards the  Goddess beliefs especially the Wicca belief and the fact that it was based on developing the strength and empowerment for  women which drew me to this practice because of my own background and my own need for this.

I began by finding a sacred space, what is a sacred space I hear you say, well to me, it’s a place that can be both  mental as in your imagination and dreams  and a psychical space such has a alter, favourite tree or a room tha t you have sole access to, where only your influence is felt and that it is charged with your positive energy.

This made perfect sense to me and was a good starting point because as a woman, life had  not always allow me  my  own space in any shape  or form due to the pressures of being someone mother,daughter, or wife.And this was especially true for me because where I lived at the time didnt offer me my space that I could say was sacred to just me. Around about that time my interest in being outside in nature became stronger and it is what we did has children to escape a lonely child hood. I began to relate to nature when I was five and always wanted to go into the woods and sit with the trees. This gave me the space I craved, pure oxygen and a sense of  higher self and how we conncet has one

Now I am luckier now in terms of where I live, especially my life situation and I enjoy making the space sacred just to me, which I have never had.  I  started this practice by having a place to meditate inside the house  as it is quiet difficult to meditate outside I needed somewhere inside. I choose the colours and the way it felt, and of course now I live on myown this is so much easier. This then extended to making an altar,  and developing my garden and eventually because it was so much fun the whole area  became a  place I could call sacred.

It helped so much and vital when I came to focus on my spiritual practices, has it leads me into a safe and peaceful mindset , where I can do my Tarot Card readings  and connect with my higher self listen to my guides and generally go in times of stress and feel the calm and secure.  I need to be able to develop a peaceful fulfilled life and this  part of the practice affords this and is the grounding for everything else.

Leave a comment